Events Calendar

Current Weather

Manatee Road Watch

Eat Here - Gulf Coast Cookery Sean Tampa Bay yacht Management Bills Discount Center - New & used Furnature, Appliances and More!

The Bradenton Times Polls

Poll Question: Do you plan on visiting Cuba if Congress eases travel restrictions?

 Yes  No More polls »

The Robyn Report with Robyn Davis Right column ad

Change Text Size: Larger  Smaller

News Section: Sports

Campi Dominates Late Model Feature at Desoto

Published Wednesday, June 4, 2014 12:01 am
MANATEE COUNTY -- Not even a rain delay could slow down Sarasota's Anthony Campi on his way to a commanding win in the Turner Tree & Landscape 75-lap Super Late Model feature at Desoto Speedway Saturday night.


Bradenton's Jesse Dutilly started second and passed polesitter T.J. Duke for the lead before the completion of the second lap. Dutilly pulled away early until Anthony Campi passed Duke for second. Campi started running Dutilly down and was within a couple of car lengths of the lead when the caution flew for Brian Richardson's spin on lap 17.
The caution flew again four laps later for a five-car pileup that started with Daniel Webster and David Green got together just past the start/finish line and ended in turn 1. 
After what would be the final restart, Campi passed Dutilly on the outside for the lead at the end of the 25th lap. He would go unchallenged the rest of the way, leading the final 50 laps on his way to the win.
"We were set up for long green flag runs and that's what we had to the end," Campi said. 
Dutilly, who said he had flat tires in three of the last six races at Desoto Speedway, finished second.
"I'm disappointed to run second, but Campi was the class of the field," Dutilly said. "We're gaining on him, but obviously we've got some work to do."
Chris Fontaine passed Jeff Scofield for third place with just a handful of laps to go. Duke, who won a Super Late Model event at Desoto a few weeks ago, rounded out the top five.
The Take Aim Gun Range Late Model Sportsmen followed with a 40-lap feature. Ryan Pancoast led the first four laps before being passed by Aaron Williamson, who pulled out to a lead of nearly five seconds over Brandon Morris and Steve Gainey before a caution for a spin on lap 28.


On the restart, Gainey roared from third to first. Williamson wasted no time getting back to the lead and found himself back at the head of the field on lap 31. Morris and Gainey got together going into turn, allowing Mark Peterson to slide into second place.


Williamson pulled away from the rest of the field to collect the win. Peterson and Morris staged a side-by-side battle for second place over the final two laps, with Morris nipping Peterson for the spot at the checkered flag.


In other action Saturday night, John Garrett won the Cowboy Cadillac feature; Duane Best took the victory in the 30-lap Pure Stock feature after initial winner Cameron Ray's car failed post-race inspection; Billy Campbell was the winner of the 25-lap Outlaw Modified feature event; and Joey Catarelli won the 25-lap Pro Figure 8 race.


Desoto Speedway returns to action next Saturday night June 7th with the Joey Coulter Pro Truck Series, Take Aim Gun Range Sportsmen and the J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modifieds, Pure Stock, Pro 4/ Rookie 4 and Mini Stock. The Desoto Speedway J.R. Fan Club for kids will also give chance for the young fans to meet several of the Open Wheel drivers.

Super Late Model
1. 81 Anthony Campi Sarasota
2. 30 Jesse Dutilly Bradenton
3. 47 Chris Fontaine Lakeland
4. 6 Jeff Scofield Plant City
5. 28DT.J.Duke S.W. Ranches
6. 33 Daniel Webster Brooksville
7. 12 David Green Fort Pierce
8. 128 Dylan Bigley Naples
9. 28Billy Bigley Jr. Naples
10. 59 Jake Perkins Ocala
11. 57 Joe Winchell Dade City
12. 51 Michael Atwell Naples
13. 56 Brian Richardson Cape Coral
14. 5 Joe Boyd Riverview DNS


1. 13 Aaron Williamson Lakeland
2. 56 Brrandon Morris Mulberry
3. 73 Mark Peterson Sarasota
4. 79x Steve Gainey Bradenton
5. 25 Brooke Storer Zeypherhills
6. 47 Ryan Pancoast N.Ft.Myers
7. 33 Derrick Wood Orlando


Pure Stock
1. 3 Duane Best Parrish
2.97 Chris Scott Nokomis
3. 80 Chad Cummings Palmetto
4. 18 Troy Theim Sarasota
5. 74 Paul Huffstutler Bradenton
6 16 Cody Allen Lehigh
7. 63 Kyle Best Parrish
8. 67 Jimmie Best Sarasota
9. 44 Rick Hess Englewood
10. 9 Camron Ray Homosassa D.Q.


Outlaw Modified
1. 00 Bill Campbell
2. 26 Mike Endee
3. 14 Dan Ackard
4. 80 Richard Nelson
5. 04 Tom Meyer
6.51 Mark Patton l
7.22 Ric Mills
8. 5 Kevin Endee


Figure 8
1. 6c Joey Catarelli PinellasPark
2. 14 Wayne Kaulkins St Pete
3. 94 Charles Meyer Pineallas Park
4. 6s Shawn Senkossoff Clearwater
5. 11 James Poole St Pete
6. 941 Justin Meyer Pinnellas Park
7. 17 Michael Cherry Brandon
8. 16 Cody Benoit Lehigh D.N.S.


Cowboy Cadillac’s
1. 26 John Garrett Port Charlotte
2. 63 James Wright Naples
3. 2 Lance Somber Punta Gorda
4. 6 Chris Bridges Venice
5. 5 Ed Snyder North Port
6. 32 Shawn Shinault Punta Gorda
7. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
8. 8 Mike Bialaki Arcadia D.N.S.

Join the conversation post Facebook comments here or on our site at the bottom of article.


  In Addition to Facebook Comments You Can Also Post Comments Below

Non-Facebook Comments:

Click here to add a Non-Facebook comment to this page

 Sign up for our free news subscription - a great way to stay informed!

News World Round UpSports Roundup

Manatee Rural Health Certificate


Name Date
Juanita Floyd June 26, 2015
Elizabeth Bennett July 22, 2015
John Lawler July 21, 2015
Marilyn Doxey July 22, 2015
Donald Mills July 23, 2015
Allene O'Brien July 23, 2015
Irene Brothers July 24, 2015
Helen Mitchell July 23, 2015
Elizabeth Bennett July 22, 2015
All Obituaries

Copyright © 2009 - 2015 | The Bradenton Times | More than just an Online Newspaper |
405 26 Avenue Bradenton, FL 34205
Phone: 941-896-7857 - Privacy Policy - RSS Feed
Template provided by Free CSS Templates