Events Calendar

2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          

Current Weather

Manatee Road Watch

Eat Here - Gulf Coast Cookery Right column ad Bills Discount Center - New & used Furnature, Appliances and More!

The Bradenton Times Polls

Poll Question: Do you think the labrador mix Padi, who bit and injured a child while the dog was allegedly protecting himself, should be euthanized?

 Yes  No More polls »

Sean Tampa Bay yacht Management

Change Text Size: Larger  Smaller

News Section: Local Government

Commissioner Larry Bustle Voted 2013 BOCC Chair

Published Wednesday, November 28, 2012 12:03 am Local/bustle_body.png
Commissioner Larry Bustle

MANATEE COUNTY – Manatee County Commissioners voted Tuesday to appoint Larry Bustle Chairman of the Board. Bustle, a U.S. Air Force veteran and the former Mayor of Palmetto, has been District 1 commissioner since 2008 and was recently reelected to a second term. He thanked fellow board members for unanimously voting him as the chair.

“Thank you to my fellow commissioners for your trust in me and for the opportunity to serve the county government in this capacity,” Bustle said. “I’m awed by the prospects. The next four years are going to be signature years for Manatee County as we work our way out of the recession. We’re seeing a time when many things are going to start to happen.”

The election took place during the first meeting of two new county commissioners, at-large Commissioner Betsy Benac and District 5 Commissioner Vanessa Baugh. New chairmanships begin Jan. 1, 2013.

Commissioner Michael Gallen was elected as the Board’s First Vice Chairman. Newly elected at-large Commissioner Betsy Benac was elected Second Vice Chairman and current Chairman John Chappie was elected Third Vice Chairman.

Commissioners also voted on 2013 officers’ positions for the other boards on which they serve. Commissioner Carol Whitmore was re-elected chair of the Tourist Development Council in 2013 and she was also elected chair of the Manatee Port Authority. Commissioner Chappie will be First Vice Chairman of the Port Authority; Commissioner Gallen will be Second Vice Chairman; Commissioner Vanessa Baugh will be Third Vice Chairman.

Commissioner Robin DiSabatino was elected chair of the Civic Center Authority (retiring Commissioner Donna Hayes was chair of the Civic Center in 2012). Commissioner Baugh will be First Vice Chairman; Commissioner Benac will be Second Vice Chairman; Commissioner Bustle will be Third Vice Chairman.

Commissioner Betsy Benac will serve as chair of the Community Redevelopment Agency. Commissioner Gallen will serve as Vice Chairman. Commissioner Gallen was originally nominated for chairmanship, but declined, unsuccessfully attempting to nominate current chair Robin DiSabatino, who was absent from the meeting.

Join the conversation post Facebook comments here or on our site at the bottom of article.


  In Addition to Facebook Comments You Can Also Post Comments Below

Non-Facebook Comments:

Click here to add a Non-Facebook comment to this page

 Sign up for our free news subscription - a great way to stay informed!

News World Round UpSports Roundup

Manatee Rural Health Certificate


Name Date
Richard Shore, III July 29, 2015
Lisa Casper July 30, 2015
Nancy Rowe July 25, 2015
Irene Brothers July 24, 2015
Allene O'Brien June 23, 2015
Dorothy Hill July 28 2015
David Maberry July 24, 2015
Juanita Floyd June 26, 2015
Elizabeth Bennett July 22, 2015
All Obituaries

Copyright © 2009 - 2015 | The Bradenton Times | More than just an Online Newspaper |
405 26 Avenue Bradenton, FL 34205
Phone: 941-896-7857 - Privacy Policy - RSS Feed
Template provided by Free CSS Templates